Candles From the Keeping Room: Spring Haul part 1: Fresh/Earthy scents

20180410_083200It feels like ages since my first and only order from Candles From the Keeping Room, back in October 2016. Newly cutting my teeth on vendor wax purchases, I never even posted a review for it at the time. Many vendors have come and gone since, but Carol still produces the high-quality and time-tested fragrance she’s built her enduring reputation on, just not available as often as in the past.

I don’t exactly know what compelled me to order in March, other than I heard news of the restock date a few days before and didn’t want to pass up her her Spring scents. Also, maybe a little bit of ‘stress shopping’ played a part as I abandoned my wax low-buy. I didn’t get nearly anything I wanted as far as newer scents, Coconut Coast, Iced Pineapple and Vanilla Velvet, which quickly sold out. My main wish was for Blue Cedar Lavender which I adored as a sample from that first order, but it must not have been available. I still managed to grab enough in the 22 minute or so window before the site closed to require splitting my haul into two posts. Shaped tarts ranged from $5.95-$6.25 per bag. Favorites are noted with a heart.

20180401_181213
Does anyone else love that the fabric ties match the scent’s season and profile?

Shave and a Haircut A masculine scent with clean, sharp finish. The perfect combination of barbershop aromas. This fragrance combines the scent of a strong yet sweet aftershave along with hints of aromatic spices and orange zest. My initial sniff of a lighter scent has improved with a few weeks’ cure. Don’t let Carol’s definition of ‘sharp’ fool you. S & H is lovely, and far from harsh cologne or lesser aftershave type scents. Aquatic marine notes are balanced by balsamic woods and herbal aromas. Clean and crisp as a freshly pressed shirt, contrasted by the juiciness of citrus and the warmth of a genuine smile.

AlpineThe top notes of Alpine are clean and ozonic with a splash of citrus reminding us of brisk winter air. Floral middle notes of jasmine, rose and lily of the valley provide depth. Finally, notes of earth, musk and moss round out this complex fragrance. We were still in the midst of Winter when I ordered and this appealed to me. There’s a soapy/bodycare essence but it’s beautifully complimented by the soft florals and clean refreshment of brisk outdoor breeze. It’s understated, as hardy Alpine gardens must be, but also sings with sparkling fragrance, rustic leafy blooms and natural airy sweetness. Very close to ‘Maria-spinning-on-the-mountaintop’ vibes, a nice surprise.

Swedish Dream SaltEnjoy a dreamy soak in an oceanside spa. Sheer cucumber, lavender, balsam, and a whisper of lime are carried on a salty ocean breeze. Reminiscent of the Himalayan salt spa I visited last year where I played in the pink salt rocks as salt-infused air was sprayed through the room aglow with salt lamps. It was a fun, unique experience, but left me with an irritated throat for the day.

This scent is gentler as the saltiness tickles the nose at first, but possesses an acrid undertone as it melts. Brisk breezes roll in on an electric current of ozone sparking a crisp clean atmosphere. Invigorating, but not as soothing or relaxing as I want a spa scent to be. Much like my salt spa experience, I’m not sure I would repeat it.20180408_162408.jpgVanilla Patchoulia blend of a sweet vanilla and an earthy, woody Patchouli. I’ve been ravenous for this combo since using Bath and Body Works’ Comfort aromatherapy scrubs/lotions in the scent. Heavy patchouli is the star with it’s persistent presence, as the vanilla lingers around the edges barely flirting with the aroma. The thickly powdered scent borders on a stuffy old-fashioned patchouli oil with a synthetic lean, rather than the deep exotic herbaceous type I prefer. There is a comforting quality as the scent blankets the room, as long as one isn’t too picky about her patchouli.

Bergamot & MyrhhTop notes of Italian Bergamot, clove and orange peel. Middle notes of smoked myrrh, frankincense and cinnamon leaf. Bottom notes of tobacco, Cedarwood and white sandalwood. I love this surprisingly sweet and fruity oil. Enlivened by a wildness from the subtle herby citrus of bergamot, quickly becoming a favorite oil of mine. The richness of the smoky myrhh resonates with a drop of calming golden frankincense. The spices add depth, but aren’t showy; together with the woods they ground the scent in elegance. Meanwhile, the fragrant resin carries me to a mellow magical place. Unlike any other vendor scent I’ve tried, simply beautiful.ā™„ā™„

Lavender ChamomileYou will love this soothing, relaxing scent made up of California lemon, soothing chamomile, lavender, camellia leaf, rose petals, soft cedar wood, musk. Extra baby powder notes without the herbal threads one would expect to find in a lavender. When inhaled closely, a cottony lavender is hidden underneath like a silky slip tucked under a pillow. As the dusky powder fades, the silkiness glides over the room with sultry fragrance. I wish the lavender and the throw were stronger, however, it makes a pretty bed or bath time scent.

Samples: Only about half from my order, which still means an abundance of new scents to try.20180326_160254Salty Mariner typeMusky Sea Weed, Green Ozone Ocean. Sodden driftwood, aged wooden planks of a creaky boat dock, slick with wet. The air is heavy with salt on the lips and tongue, cooled down by misty sea spray and distinct green foliage of sea kelp. Some seaweed scents can overwhelm, but I think this will be beautiful on a hot summer’s day.ā™„

Barbershop 1920sHeart notes of amber and rum with a light top note of musk and Bay make this irresistible! If you are a Bay Rum lover, you’ll be surprised at how this fragrance oil complements Bay Rum blends. Classic soft clean talcum. A legit old school barbershop feel of tangy shaving cream makes a handsome melt.ā™„

Greek Island Breeze TypeClean citrus notes and soft ozone, watery undertones. This Greek boat ride with salty waters will make you say Opa! I AM saying Opa, and Oh my stars is this beautiful! Bright as sunshine with the sensuous finish of viewing a vacation sunset. The salt water is perfect as it mingles with tropical fruits. A kiss of playful coconut is enhanced by a dusky breeze and garlanded with green palms.ā™„

Salty Sea Aira refreshing clean scent-like walking on the beach with the wind, water and sea air. Simpler than Salty Mariner, this took a long time to produce throw, but in time, became a pleasant background scent of fresh breezes and crystalline sea water.20180326_161041.jpgGreen figCrisp Meyer lemons add a tangy twist to rich fig notes, while precious pomegranate seeds permeate the heart of this exotic citrus scent. Tartness of unripe fruit, green and chewy, slightly nutty, soothing and spa-like. Complex, fruity woods are my favorite. ā™„

Supernovaeffervescent grapes with light nuances of rose and geranium on a background of patchouli and warm musk. A Lush fragrance dupe which smells of typical Lush bodycare to me, strong floral musk. I do favor a few Lush scents, but this isn’t one of them.

DreamcatcherA soft, powdery floral with undertones of designer perfume. A one-of-a-kind fragrance. Ooh, nope. Perfumey scents laden with white flowers are not for me.

Hollister Socal TypeBlend of lavender, fern, aged woods, musk, amber and vanilla. It’s been a long time, but this does seem to be what the Hollister store smelled like-excessive musk, linen and green notes with a beachy mild body spray aroma. Perhaps it reminds me of back-to-school window shopping, but I like it.

I noticed with this order, I preferred more samples than the scents I chose in bagged tarts. But how did I fare with the fruity half of my order? All will be told in Part II.

3 thoughts on “Candles From the Keeping Room: Spring Haul part 1: Fresh/Earthy scents

  1. Beautiful! But I can’t condone a single one of these scents. Ack, how can you possibly relax when everything smells all fresh and citrusy and not like some kind of gooey cupcake? I have no idea why we’re friends. šŸ˜‰

    Like

    1. Well no, these wouldn’t be your thing. Opposite scent types attract, I guess;) At least that’s true for my husband and me. BUT you would enjoy the Vanilla Velvet I featured in the other half of my order-deliciously different for a vanilla.

      Like

Comments are closed.

A WordPress.com Website.

Up ↑