Band of Bloggers-May

 May, May, May. Welcome back, ol’ friend! May is a turning point in the year for a lot of people. The school year is almost over, summer is coming soon, and those mild months will soon become scorchers. The birthstone of May is the emerald, which symbolizes love and success. This month, we’re focusing on those two things!



We all love something with all our hearts, so tell us what you love the most. It could be the story of how you met your spouse/significant other, where you got your pet, or a nod to your parental units.

~*Yeah, so, this was a challenging prompt. In a way, I already share what I love the most by writing this blog, particularly in my monthly Best/Worst posts. Of course, I love my husband, family and friends and write of them often.

I decided instead of focusing on the ONE thing I love the most, I’d dedicate a credo poem to my loves. This provides a rounder picture, still creates a challenge and avoids having to choose only one. I adapted a credo, or “I Believe” poem to an “I love” poem:

I love…

I love fighting for the underdog,
Browsing through my library’s catalog.
I love the rhyming poetry of Ogden Nash,
Pulling out my winter coat to find a pocket of forgotten cash.

I love receiving a package from a distant friend,
Stimulating conversation you never want to end,

Guacamole,

ice cream,

craft brews,
Smiles on the faces of my niece and nephews.
The sound of my grandparents’ old hall clock when it used to chime,
But never the feeling that I’m wasting my time.

I love watching a live production on the stage, A book that stays with you long after the final page.

 Ballgames,

leisurely morns,

the sound of summer thunderstorms.

I love the soft snores of my sleeping pup,
Pouring myself that morning cup.
I love the emotion of laughter through tears,
And the feeling of conquering my fears.*~


In terms of success, and keeping it blog related, have you ever participated in and/or completed a successful “project wax” or spring wax/perfume/makeup/scented product purge? Have you ever had so much product you felt the need to use it all up before you bought again?

*~I’m not a hoarder, but I’m not a purger either. I’m guilty of keeping make-up past it’s expiration, clothes past their prime and accumulating stashes of candles and wax larger than I could ever use.

In January, I claimed I would burn more candles than I would buy and I plan to update the status of that claim soon. Spoiler alert, I’m failing horribly. Letting stuff I love, or loved, go, can be a struggle for me.~*

2017-05-03 22.44.12
Spring Candles
 This month I plan to redouble and triple my efforts to get through some of my spring candles. 
Please, feel free to answer these questions in the comments section below!

I’m looking forward to reading what my blogging friends love today.
We hope you’ll visit these Band of Blogger blogs and help support the blogger community!

 

If you are a blogger and would like to join the Band of Bloggers for our monthly posts, please contact us.
11 thoughts on “Band of Bloggers-May

    1. Thanks Jessica:) It was an interesting exercise to try to formulate some of my loves into words and rhyme it! My candle goal is to try to burn 4-5 this month. It will be the most I’ve ever gone through, so wish me luck.

      Liked by 1 person

    1. Aw, I’m glad you enjoyed it. Your loves were quite inspiring to read. I’m immersed in poetry due to Shel being an English teacher, it’s one of my favorite subjects. I listen to a 5 min poetry podcast every morning as I get ready for work (The Writer’s Almanac) I think poetry is best in small doses.
      Ugh, I realized I left 3 candles out of the photo and it doesn’t include 4 back-up scents I have. Too manyyyyyy!

      Like

  1. I love your poem! I feel like it perfectly hits both the exquisite and ‘mundane’ loves in your life!

    You’re not the only one who struggles with letting things go! I have a way of attaching an inordinate amount of emotions and memories with the most simple of things.

    Like

    1. Thanks so much Liz, well put! You have no idea how mundane it almost got; before the editing process, I had the ‘dislike’ line as “but not my husband’s holey socks”!
      I’m trying to get better at letting go, the older I get, the harder it is…

      Like

  2. That was lovely, Jay. 🙂 Too many good things to love to confine it to just one or two (I also love ice cream, guacamole and craft brews – ever tried guacamole ice cream or beer sorbet? Now we’re multi-tasking!)

    Like

Leave a Reply

