Fall Fun- Baked Granola & Homemade Cranberry Bars Wax

Here I am posting another recipe, what has gotten in to me? It must be due to the bakery prompt for the Fall Fun series. Don’t be too alarmed folks, I also reviewed an amazing fall wax scent below. I’ll leave the baked desserts to those who know what they’re doing on that front, but I’ll share my go-to recipe for granola that I love to whip up this time of year. Besides, it is baked, in an oven – so it counts!

What’s baking?

I enjoy making granola for camping trips because its hearty, portable and can be eaten right out of the bag.

granola

Granola is generally satisfying when it’s freshly baked, however, once it’s had time to loosen up a little, you start needing to scoop it out with a spoon. For a better granola it should be full of clumps, therefore my go-to recipe needs some tweaking:

Adapted from Alton Brown’s food network recipe:

  • Yield: makes about 7 cups
  • Active time:10 minutes
  • Total time:1 hour 10 min

Ingredients:

3 cups rolled oats
1 cup slivered almonds
1 cup cashews (I used coarsely chopped pecans)
3/4 cup shredded sweet coconut
1/4 cup plus 2 tablespoons dark brown sugar
1/4 cup plus 2 tablespoons maple syrup
1/4 cup vegetable oil-I increase to 1/3 cup
3/4 teaspoon salt
1 cup raisins, or craisins

20160928_103220
It looks like a lot of dry ingredients but you can customize it, plus it’s such an easy recipe.

 

Additions:

1 large egg white*

1/3 cup roasted sunflower seeds (to increase saltiness)

3/4 cup colorful mini-marshmallows (to increase sweetness and color)

*Why the egg white? I enjoy clumpy granola chunks. I used to make this recipe as is, and I swear that it got looser and drier every time I made it, no matter how much oil and syrup I added. Several years ago, I began checking other recipes for better results with chunky granola and came upon ones which included the egg white.

Is it absolutely necessary? No, but for maximum clumpage, it needs a glue to hold it together. You can also use mashed bananas for a vegan alternative, but it’s messier and doesn’t stick together as well.

Directions:

Preheat oven to 250 degrees F.

In a large bowl, combine the oats, nuts, coconut, and brown sugar.

In a separate bowl, combine maple syrup, oil, and salt. Combine both mixtures *then add in your whisked egg white so that it’s well distributed* 

20160928_110529

Divide granola onto 2 baking sheets; I sort of press it down onto the pan to help it stick. Cook for 1 hour stirring every 15 minutes to achieve an even color.* I simply rotate the pans every 15, because…

20160928_111054
Note: No ovens were cleaned while preparing this granola recipe!

*I carefully flip my granola slabs over in sections after 25 min. using a large spatula, or else it will brown unevenly*

Be vigilant about checking for doneness the last 15 minutes of baking time because it can burn quickly! I let mine get a little too toasty this time, sorry camp friends.

Remove from oven, let cool for a few minutes and transfer into a large bowl. Add craisins and other mix-ins (marshmallows) until evenly distributed.

To avoid breaking up your clumps, do this gently, or do what I did: layer the mix-ins and granola at intervals right inside the canister, no mixing required.

This recipe will stay fresh for 5-7 days in an airtight container I believe, but mine usually never lasts that long!

What’s melting?

Homemade Cranberry Bars by Sugar Blossom Candles

20160925_185117

Last month, I won an Instagram giveaway from a sweet vendor named Jessica at Sugar Blossom Candles. It generously included 6 melt cups, 1 huge wax jack o’ lantern, and 2 sample scent shapes.

The wax is dye-free and divinely scented, and one sample scent was such a perfect accompaniment to this recipe that I had to share it. It’s Homemade Cranberry Bars!

Fragrance: One of the most unique scents that I’ve tried in my 6 months of vendor wax purchases and many years of Yankee Candle collecting! Tartness of the fruit hits your senses first, but then it develops into a delicately spiced fragrance with a hint of bakery. Homemade Cranberry Bars contains some cinnamon and other spices, but my favorite thing about this is, it’s a sweet cinnamon rather than a spicy one. Although my spice-loving friends would totally be into this fragrance too. It’s such a realistic nutty and tangy cranberry/raisin granola scent that it smells absolutely edible.

Performance: Light to medium range in my electric warmer, but mine was a sample size. I’ve melted Jessica’s oversize melt cups in my warmers and needed to cut them in half, thus I’ve gotten very good throw from Sugar Blossom melts so far.

Recommendation: If you can only try one of today’s features, skip the granola and get this wax melt! I’ve contacted Jessica to see if she will be adding any more Homemade Cranberry Bars to her Etsy shop because it’s sold out. She answered she will be making more melts some time later in October and will update on social media when she restocks this scent.

Her shop is currently open and her price per amount is really good. I can testify that she provides awesome customer service and answered my questions even while preparing for her law exams. Sugar Blossom Candles is an example of a quality small business vendor who really deserves support and I’m more than happy to spread the word.

 

I wonder what’s baking this week over on the rest of my Fall Fun friends’ sites?

-jaybird

 

8 thoughts on “Fall Fun- Baked Granola & Homemade Cranberry Bars Wax

  1. oooo I may have to try this recipe, it sounds wonderful and really simple which I love! Also.. this melt intrigues me. I may have to snag some of it myself once she restocks it! Cranberry is another scent that my nose can’t get enough of.

    Like

    1. It’s easy and tasty, you can totally add or subtract whichever ingredients that you like😊 I hope that SBC restocks this wax soon, I like some cranberry scents, but not if they’re syrupy sweet. The cranberry in this one has a zing to it, but it also reminds me of sugary golden raisins. So delish.

      Liked by 1 person

  2. This looks really good! I quite enjoy granola and eat it straight from the bag for breakfast most mornings. I have only made it from scratch once using a cookbook but it was ultra “healthy” with coconut oil and brown rice syrup and stuff and it felt really flavorless. I will have to try yours, it looks much better… and marshmallows?! Yes please. Love your owl towel by the way.

    This new vendor sounds great! Glad you enjoyed your winnings, and congratulations! Free wax rocks!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Thanks Julie, the owls are actually an apron that my sis gave me as a present and the embroidery is off-centered on the bottom. I like their bright yellow eyes.
    I know granola should be healthy but really isn’t, so I just focus on taste and texture. We enjoyed this granola for breakfast today and it’s pretty filling, will last us the 4 hr drive home!

    Like

Comments are closed.