Storm Watch

2016-05-01 11.55.50

“I have seen tempests, when the scolding winds
Have riv’d the knotty oaks; and I have seen
The ambitious ocean swell and rage with foam,
To be exalted with the threatening clouds”
Julius Caesar: Act I, Scene III

I’m taking an in-depth Shakespeare study course online, does it show? (see recommendation below)

Lately, I’ve tried a lot of new and new-to-me scents.  However, I couldn’t write a Stormy Weather fragrance wrap-up without a testimonial for a tried and true classic Yankee candle: Storm Watch. 

Fragrance: This fragrance is special.  It creates a cooling, calming mood in the room, wherever I put it.  It is so atmospheric that I almost feel surrounded by a stormy breeze lifting off the water as it rolls in toward land.  

Storm Watch is a sophisticated scent. Although it has varying levels to the aroma: a tinge of effervescent lemon, the ozone in the air before it rains, and a soft musky finish, it forms an elegant blend in which no single note stands out.

Performance: Strong and steady.  You can smell the throw within minutes and once the wax becomes liquefied, it fills a medium sized room.  Storm Watch never fades into the background, but also never overpowers.  Nearly perfect throw for me.

Recommendation: It’s one of my top-five favorite candles.  It’s a scent that I light when I want to relax, but also use to enhance my mood as I open a few windows during a summer rain.

You can find Storm Watch as an online exclusive and occasionally in large jars or votives in the store during the spring.   I grab some whenever I see it and the tarts usually sell out during the semi-sales.

I also recommend the “Shakespeare and his World” course that I’m taking, for free, from Futurelearn.com.  The site offers lots of interesting topics, taught by professors at British universities, and the best part is that you can learn at your own pace because the weekly lessons are archived.  Check it out!

Stormy weather wrap-up: 

This month, I had mixed results with three of the four scents.  I chose Summer Storm as the loser of the month because its on the same spectrum as Storm Watch in tone, but comes off unnatural and over-the-top.  Also, my husband couldn’t stand it.

Storm Watch is clearly a favorite.  If I could choose a candle to represent myself, it would be my choice.  I love the steel gray-blue wax, the fresh fragrance, and since I am a storm watcher, but I also consider myself a storm weather-er; I even identify with the name.  Until next month…

“Rough winds do shake the darling buds of May.
And summer’s lease hath all too short a date.”
Sonnet 18: Shall I Compare thee to a summer’s day.

 

4 thoughts on “Storm Watch

  1. I love everything about this post. As a fellow storm-watcher and weather-er, I will need to try this one out! IF you ever find an extra, pick one up for me!?
    Great
    Storm Series.

    Like

Comments are closed.