Juicy Grapefruit

In my ongoing pursuit of positivity, I’ve been gravitating to all things grapefruit.  From checking out the benefits of grapefruit essential oils, using beauty

20160326_200934
Yes to grapefruit products

products with grapefruit extracts, to eating them, sliced and sweetened; the tangy fruit has become my flavor of choice.

Needless to say, I sure was excited to see that Yankee re-released Juicy Grapefruit recently.  And when this return coincided with the “Employee shop sale” a couple of weeks ago, you better believe I was on it.  Customers get employee discounts during the sale and I usually stock up.  Too bad the employee shop prices were changed this year, from the 60% off any 6, to the standard 50% off all fragrance that employees get to enjoy anytime.  Oh well, the change meant I only bought two jars rather than six, so I guess it’s a good thing.  I’m certainly running out of candle storage.  I will have to share a picture of my stash sometime.  As I said before, it’s an addiction!

Fragrance: Not what I expected.  I tried juicy grapefruit years ago and remember liking it, but I didn’t realize it has such a floral feel to it.  It’s a layered fragrance, with some pinkish flower note, possibly hibiscus, up front. Ahh, then the sweetness of grapefruit, and lastly a powdery perfume note lingers.

Performance: One of the strongest throws I’ve experienced.  The smell permeated the room before a complete wax pool formed, rare for a jar-style Yankee!  It’s strength filled up both my kitchen and downstairs family room when I tried each spot.

Recommendation: Certainly a great re-release decision by YC, 20160326_182319especially due to the popularity of the UK only release of Pink Grapefruit last year.  I scored a couple UK -exclusive votives of Pink Grapefruit at an outlet, and although I can’t do a jar-to-jar comparison, I prefer the scent of the UK version.  It’s zestier, tangier and despite the name reversal, juicier than Juicy Grapefruit.  

I absolutely recommend Juicy Grapefruit for its powerful throw and sweet perfume notes.  I only wish that I could get a jar of the simpler, but truer scent of Pink Grapefruit.  Maybe I’ll get lucky and find one someday!

Happy Easter!

20160326_180823
Pysanky dyed easter eggs from my great Aunt:)

-jaybird

 

